===========================================================================
GLView version 3.01  10.12.96
3D OpenGL/Direct 3D Viewer for Windows NT 3.51/4.0/95
Copyright (C) 1994-1996 Holger Grahn
All Rights Reserved
===========================================================================

See the file README.TXT for installation instructions and last minute notes.
For ordering information, see the file ORDER.TXT.

The following changes were made in the GLView 3.01 (10.12.96) version
* new VRML 2.0 features: 
	support for Background Node (both color gradient + wall textures)
	improved PROTO instancing handling
  	Scripts inside PROTOS, PROTOS inside PROTOS and EXTERNPROTO now supported	
	IndexedLineSet support
	Material transparency implemented via Alpha Blending

* D3D Version improved navigation speed, rendering quality, anchor clicking
  VRML 2.0 texture mapping fixes 
  D3D Driver selection from Options->Direct3D dialog saved to ini file
  color per vertex support for D3D RGB-Emulation mode

* transparent GIFs in OpenGL Version

* seek to object navigation mode in right mouse button menu

* improve picking and other enhancements



The following changes were made in the GLView 3.0  version
* VRML 2.0 support	 (for more information see VRML 2.0 notes in README.TXT)
* VRML Script integration ( "" )
* right mouse button menu in viewer window
* support for interlaced gifs and PPM image format

* actual camera position now saved on creating of VRML file for simple scenes

* Additions to viewpoint menu
	Save New will save the current viewpoint as new camera node
	if "animate" is checked, selection of a viewpoint will animate to viewpoint
	"next" "prev" buttons are selecting a different viewpoint
	"animate all does" a camera animation through all viewpoints
	

* Additions to VRML 1.0 file syntax 
    DEF AnimateViewpoints Info {string "true" }
		At load of the scene an animation through all Viewpoints will be done
    DEF RenderMode Info {string "mode" }
	   changes the initial rendering mode 
	   where mode = wireframe|flat|gouraud|nonlighted|solid|boundingboxes|vertices

* Additions to Tree Editor
	* SFNode + MFNode edit support
	* MF Field elements can be changed

* better output fileformating for VRML write 

* smoother True-Type font tesselation

* misc improvements and bug fixes

The following changes were made in the GLView 2.09a (29.06.96) version
* several bug fixes due to compiler optimizations in rel. version


The following changes were made in the GLView 2.09 (15.06.96) version
* rendering of VRML to a BMP file in arbitrary resolution (File->RenderToFile)
  great for web-page image generation, creation of textures, printing ....
* support for Layer Node to compose displays with underlay and overlay nodes.
  a layer can contain (blended / transparent) images or even full 3d VRML scenes
  (See LayerTest.wrl)
* Image and ScaledImage node to display 2D images including alpha support
   (See ImageTest.wrl)
* BackgroundImage support (implemented using Layer + ScaledImage nodes)
* ImageElevationGrid creates a heightfield or 3D surface simply from an
  standard pixel image.
  2d-paint programs could be used to create 3D landscapes.
  (See ElevatedMandril.wrl)

* Save to wrl for single object scenes preservers Material, Background Color/Image, Texture settings
   (but with absolut pathnames to textures, filenames need to be changed to relative
    one manually for web-page publishing)
* bug fixes
* automatic adaption of default znear plane to z-buffer depth (means better 16 Bit z-buffer support)
* dummy declaration of Kinetix 3D Studio Max exporter nodes
* rotation field for morph node
* demo version expires after a month
* in Options->Register Filetypes GLView can be (re)registered automatically as 
    Netscape viewer 	for mimetypes x-world/x-vrml and x-world/x-glview
* additions to tree editor:
	New Nodes can be created via "Node->New" entering a node type or choosing from a listbox
	On double-click on a field in the tree view an field editor pops up
	SFColor + MFColor length 1 fields can be editited using the color editor
	Paste In allow the paste of nodes into Group nodes or SFNode fields
* save of VRML to raw/pov/stl/geo dosnt destroy internal tree structure
* raw input supports mixed in ascii lines


The following changes were made in the GLView 2.08 (24.04.96) version
* fixed the "IntenetOpen Error 2" bug occured on some Windows 95 installation
* user interface improvements
* URL status bar + animation during internet operations
* additions to Morph node, eg. time range control (e.g. MorphedVenus.wrl)
* new color gradient animation node (See Colored*.wrl)
* first version of VRML 2.0 extrusion + heightfield node (ExtrusionTest.wrl +  Landscape.java)
* 16 Bit Z-Buffer switch + OpenGL info box
* save window size on exit option
* support for Transformed Cameras (Fountain)
* HTTP + FTP protocol Internet access now through Microsoft Internet SDK


The following changes were made in the GLView 2.07 (08.03.96) version
* HTTP + FTP protocol Internet access now through Microsoft Sweeper SDK
* url loading using multiple parallel background threads
* first version of VRML tree inspector / editor (Tools->Tree Editor)
  (Not all editing commands are available in the Demo Version)
* full write for VRML scenes
* support for filenames with spaces (C;\Program File\mywrl.wrl)
* changed extensions of GLView url Internet Shortcut to vrl, because
  Microsoft Internet Explorer uses same extension
* file type associations now editable (Options->register file types)
* configurable limitation of texture size in Material->texture options
* camera relative switch, enabled: movement is relative to view direction (like a airplane)
  disabled: movement is relative to the world "up" direction (like walking on a plane
* changed Cylinder, Cube, Cone, Sphere texture coordinates from XYZ frame to VRML xzy frame
* faster texture loading for pover of 2 sized textures
* fixed a bug during Font tesselation
* other bugfixes 


The following changes were made in the GLView 2.05 (15.12.95) version
* user interface additions, more toolbar buttons, better defaults for VRML browsing
* new VRML nodes TimeTransform, TextureShuttle
* support for nested relative WWWInlines
* registry file type association on demand only,
* dragging files from the filemanager to a running GLView
* url files now contain the source url caused the loading
* textures can now be loaded automatically at first load of the url (WWW->Options->Texture)
* global light scale factor to, scale down to bright VRML scenes 
   (Some files contain too many unnecessary lights)
* bug fixes and small enhancements


The following changes were made in the GLView 2.03 (28.11.95) version
* some defaults changed

The following changes were made in the GLView 2.02 (21.11.95) version
* Netscape DDE Support
* VRML Spheres can be now textured
* VRML files from cache are verified for correct URL
* better support for Home Space Builder VRML files (e.g. Render Mode non-lighted)

The following changes were made in the GLView 2.01 (13.11.95) version

* support for WWWAnchor display during mouse move + 
* left mouse button double click jumps to anchor

* optional view degration during moving (enable via Options->Config->degrade)

* VRML bug fixes

* Texture/image loading bug fixes: bug on non 4 byte aligned images, bug during gif,jpeg,tga loading

* new morph type cone, transformations and box now working, see Morphed*.wrl files


The following changes were made in the GLView 2.0 (26.10.95) version

* compiled with MSVC 2.2, Windows NT 3.51
* support for VRML nodes in GLView scene database
* automatic triangulation of indexedFaceSets if ShapeHints.faceType == UNKNOWN_FACE_TYPE

* Vrml loading from file / World wide web

* WWW menu

* VRML Extensions Nodes
  BaseColor, Shuttle, Rotor, TextureRotor, Morph, Blinker
  AsciiText 3D Extruded text

* Texture Options: perspective correction

* Additional support for GIF, JPEG, TARGA texture/image files

* minor modificiations for Windows 95


The following changes were made in the GLView 1.2 version

* unzipping of files with .gz suffix

* new Morph class

* changes on camera interaction

* Commandline file/url argument

* Automatic association for known extensions with GLView in the system Registry
  (HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT)


The following changes were made in the GLView 1.11 version
* color map now correct on first run & window change (256 color drivers)

* new File-> New Logo command  to create 3D flyling logos using Windows True Type fonts

* new Tools->Triangulate command to triangulate faces of current object using the GLU-Triangulator
 
* new Tools->Info command to display some info and statistics on current object

* new options->config "draw front", 
  if checked rendering goes directly to screen, so rendering
  is visible (usefull to compare speed, for drawing complex objects or wireframe rendering)
* new options->config "zoom by 2", 
  if checked rendering is done half the window size, and pixels are copied
  to screen zoomed by 2, unfortunately the OpenGL zoom copypixel function
  is very slow !?
* new options->update colors
  if checked (default): in the case focus is changed to another window with a
  custom palette, all pixels in the GLView window are replaced to the
  nearest matching new palette entry, also animation is disabled.

* vrml out, stl out, geo out

The following changes were made in the GLView 1.1 version
* compiled with MSVC 2.0, Windows NT 3.5
* File new allows creation of different object types
* fixed a bug in mesh face normal computation
* raw + pov triangle output
* DXF File (ACAD R 11)  import + Tree database + Combine command
* limited save as functionality in evaluation version

The following changes were made in the GLView 1.0a version

* flipping of object normals (Rendering->Options->Flip object normals)
  for "dark" objects.

* group support for Wavefront obj files

* group support for some primitives

* group color setting by names (X11 color names)


The following changes were made in the GLView 1.0 version

* support for RAW input format
  (RAW contains simply one  triangle per line)

* optional building of triangle strips for better OpenGL drawing speed
  (can be enabled via the options dialog,
  must be enabled before reading a file)

* detailed rendering style control for vertices, edges, faces, normals

* more toolbar buttons

GLView 0.9 initial version

===========================================================================
Holger Grahn                Email :   hg@berlin.snafu.de
Motzstr. 65                 WWW:      http://www.snafu.de/~hg
D 10777 Berlin
Germany
===========================================================================
